Mayor and City Council


The City of Emporia operates under a Council-Manager form of government. The governing body, comprised of a Mayor, who is elected at-large, and seven (7) members of City Council, each elected from one of the City’s seven (7) electoral districts. City Council sets the policies, budgets, and laws that direct City operations and services. City Council hires the City Manager to administer the day-to-day operations.

Unless otherwise posted, regular meetings of the Council are held the on the first and third Tuesday of each month at 6:30 the Council Chambers located at 201 South Main Street, Emporia, Virginia.

You are encouraged to communicate your ideas, concerns, and issues with your Council representative.

Mayor-At Large
Honorable Mary Person
Term Expires: 12-31-2020

District 4
Honorable F. Woodrow Harris
Term Expires: 12-31-2018

District 5
Honorable Doris T. White
Term Expires: 12-31-2018

District 1
Honorable Carolyn Carey,President of Council
Term Expires: 12-31-2018

District 6
Honorable L. Dale Temple
Term Expires: 12-31-2020

District 7
Honorable Mark Mitchell
Term Expires: 12-31-2018

District 2
Honorable Carol Mercer
Term Expires: 12-31-2020

District 3
Honorable James C. Saunders
Term Expires: 12-31-2020