City Council

The City of Emporia operates under a Council-Manager form of government. The governing body, comprised of a Mayor, who is elected at-large, and seven (7) members of City Council, each elected from one of the City’s seven (7) electoral districts. City Council sets the policies, budgets, and laws that direct City operations and services. City Council hires the City Manager to administer the day-to-day operations.

Unless otherwise posted, regular meetings of the Council are held on the first and third Tuesday of each month at 6:30 pm in the Council Chambers located at 201 South Main Street, Emporia, Virginia.

You are encouraged to communicate your ideas, concerns, and issues with your Council representative.

Staff Contacts


Clerk to Council



Council Representative

NameTitleTerm Expires

Mayor-At Large

Dec 31, 2024

Mark S. Lilly

District 4

Dec 31, 2026

District 5

Dec 31, 2026

District 1

Dec 31, 2026

District 6

Dec 31, 2024

District 7

Dec 31, 2026

District 2

Dec 31, 2024

District 3

Dec 31, 2024